Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Central City Public Schools

High School


Ajax Loading Image


CCHS National Honor Society Induction

On September 26, 2019, twenty-two additional juniors and seniors were recognized for scholarship, leadership, service and character while in high school when they were inducted into the Central City High School Chapter of National Honor Society (NHS). These outstanding students became part of a tradition that has existed since 1925.  Mrs. Doris Gacke played beautiful piano music before the program. Mr. Shawn McDiffett, CCHS Principal, gave the welcome.  Mrs. Debra Anderson, NHS Adviser and High School Counselor, outlined the qualifications for NHS.  NHS officers then gave informative speeches reviewing the purpose of NHS and described the character traits to be reflected by the members.  New members were recognized individually by current members in the ceremony when they signed the NHS book, and received an NHS certificate and yellow carnation.  The ceremony was followed by a reception of ice cream cake, cookies, punch, and coffee.


A special thank you goes out to Mr. Shawn McDiffett, Mrs. Sandi Abbott, Mr. Dale Soll, Mr. Doug Soll, Mrs. Jennifer Lani, Mrs. Minette Malm and NHS members who contributed beverages and sherbet for the reception.  We would also like to thank Mrs. Doris Gacke for playing beautiful introductory music, Dairy Queen for donating an ice cream cake, Nevaeh Baldwin for photographing the event, and the parents of members who served at the reception.; Mrs. Sherree Stahn, Mrs. Deb Ohlman, Mrs. Marni Danhauer, Mrs. Angie Blomstedt and Mrs. Kara Wells.


            2019-2020 Members of the Central City High School Chapter of National Honor Society (new members with an *)


NHS Seniors – Front row: Rylie Young, Alexis Ferris, Gabrielle Moser, Jacey Eberle, Zoe Snyder, Jordan Buckau, Austin Wells, Emily Blomstedt, and Spencer Supik.  Back row: Josiah Ohlman, Katherine Heins*, Shannon Manhart*, Makenna Beyer*, Shane Stahn, Grant Lindner*, Logan Lovejoy.


NHS Juniors – Front row: April Hedglin*, Abigail Curfman*, Graci McGinnis*, Jade Erickson*, Taryn Wagner*, Kortney Hamer*, Julieanne Gallion*, Lillian Kyes*, Akela Matthiessen*.   Back row:  Kane VonBonn*, Cayden Homolka*, Grant Blodgett*, Benjamin Olivo*, Kyle Dittmer*, Dyson Kunz*, Charles Jackson McGinnis*, Jake Twiss*, Eric Lenz.