## MINUTES OF THE CENTRAL CITY BOARD OF EDUCATION November 18, 2019

The Central City Board of Education met at 8:00 p.m., on Monday, November 18th, 2019 in the Central City Elementary Conference Room at 1711 15<sup>th</sup> Avenue in Central City, NE 68826.

## Pledge of Allegiance

Roll call showed the following members present: Aaron Heins, Chuck Homolka, Brent Kennedy, Lisa Wagner, Tim Williams, and Brian Buhlke arrived at 8:02pm. Also present: Jeff Jensen, Superintendent; Justin Anderson; Activities Director; Shawn McDiffett, High School Principal; Holee Hanke, Middle School Principal; and Neely Moser, Elementary Principal. Absent: None.

It was moved by Buhlke, seconded by Heins, that it is hereby determined that this meeting was preceded by advanced publicized notice by posting notices at the Superintendent's Office, Merrick County Courthouse and City Hall Office and is hereby declared to be duly convened in open session and a copy of the agenda is posted in the Superintendent's Office. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Williams. Nays: None. Absent: None.

The school district treasurer's financial report disclosed a reconciled unencumbered balance of \$3,497,675.39 as of October 31, 2019.

The high school activities fund account disclosed a balance on October 31, 2019 of \$118,280.38: middle school activity fund disclosed a balance of \$17,722.76 and the elementary activity fund disclosed a balance of \$7,946.25. The cafeteria account disclosed a balance of \$20,806.13.

It was moved by Williams, seconded by Homolka, to approve the agenda of the meeting. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Williams. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Kennedy, seconded by Buhlke, to approve the consent agenda action items, which include minutes from October 21st, financial review of funds, and November claims. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Williams. Nays: None. Absent: None.

The Board Reviewed the following policies with no action taken: Policy 5020: Rights of Parents, Policy 5021: Child Abuse, Policy 5022: Investigation By Police, Policy 5023: Student Illness, Policy 5024: Medication of Students.

The Board discussed with no action taken: 20-21 Certified Staff Negotiations.

It was moved by Kennedy, seconded by Heins, to accept the 2018-2019 School Audit. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Williams. Nays: None. Absent: None.

The Board discussed with no action: the 2020-2021 Master Calendar, Career Pathway Initiative/Building Addition Progress.

It was moved by Kennedy, seconded by Homolka, to enter into a Daycare-School Partnership Lease with the Merrick County Child Development Center. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Williams. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Homolka, seconded by Kennedy, to set regular board meeting for December 16, 2019 at 8:00p.m. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Williams. Nays: None. Absent: None.

It was moved by Homolka, seconded by Buhlke, to recognize: Renee Hutsell for her work in all buildings, Gabby Saltzgaber for her efforts implementing WIN, Deb Anderson, Staff Member of the Quarter Zach Springer, Students of the Month Graci McGinnis and Kane VonBonn, new National Honor Society Members Makenna Beyer, Abigail Curfman, Kortney Hamer, Lilian Kyes, Graci McGinnis, Taryn Wagner, Katherine Heins, Kyle Dittmer, April Hedglin, Eric Lenz, Ben Olivo, Shannon Manhart, Jade Erickson, Cayden Homolka, Akela Matthiessen, Jake Twiss, Grant Blodgett, Julieanne Gallion, Dyson Kunz, Charles McGinnis, and Kane Von Bonn, All-District Football Recognition Michael Rutherford, Christian Coleman, Nick Erickson, Eric Lenz, Jackson McGinnis, Josiah Ohlman, Jordan Buckau, Jake Twiss, Tanner Schneiderheinz, and Kale Jensen, Lou Platte All-Conference Volleyball Recognition Jade Erickson, Jessica Ohlman, and Rylie Young, NSAA Academic All-State Gabrielle Moser, Taryn Wagner, Shane Stahn, Spencer Supik, Jacey Eberle, Rylie Young, Josiah Ohlman, Austin Wells, Emily Blomstedt, and Akela Matthiessen, Class C All-State Softball Gabby Moser First Team, Taryn Wagner 2<sup>nd</sup> Team, Taylor Sheets HM, and Faith Carroll HM, and Gabby Moser was selected as a Heisman High School Scholarship winner. Motion carried 6-0. Ayes: Buhlke, Heins, Homolka, Kennedy, Wagner, and Williams. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Meeting adjourned at 9:30p.m.

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Central City Board of Education, hereby certify that the foregoing minutes is a true and correct representation of the meeting of the Central City Board of Education held in open session on November 18, 2019. Dated this 18th day of November, 2019.

Respectfully Submitted,

Tim Williams, Board Secretary